top of page

1 Year Later...

1 Year Later. This last year, I have forgotten all about this. From this day on, I will make an effort to make a blog post on a fortnightly basis. Regardless of that, Where have I been this last year? Aside from the various Ludum Dare Game Jams, A Levels at 6th Form and general Game Development and dabbling, I haven't done much.

In fact this weekend, I was participating in a game jam known as the Gamemaker's Toolkit GameJam. As of writing I have completed my entry for this game jam which you can find HERE:

https://pi219.itch.io/time-jump

Recently I have been playing Spelunky a lot more, And have come to thought that the main reasons it doesn't require an absolute bunker-ton of content is that its content creates many unique and interesting situations that more content would rather hold it back. This is in part due to the weird dual functionality of everything and how all the various mechanics have effects on other mechanics or objects and the other way around which allows for neat situations.

Procedural generation, While I lack any real experience in developing procedural generation and will one day want to do it, Is a massive boon to Spelunky as it allows its various mechanics to create new situations and allows its situations to be developed to emphasise these mechanics(Rooms with a lot of empty space for the ice caves with springs and abyss. More cramped style in the Caves and Jungles to introduce objects and expand upon mechanics).

Procedural generation if controlled in a proper balance between random and authorised content can allow for an extensive exploration into the mechanics and actually compliments emergant gameplay, though I feel a lot that procedural generation compliments emergant gameplay much better than its opposite.

Anyway, It's late. This is ODST signing off.

z..zz.....zzzz....z

-ODST


bottom of page